Blurry 10:13

"The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure." 1 Cor. 10:13

The Broken Glass Incident

To this day, my parents still tell their version of this incident to family and friends. When I decided enough was enough, I finally gathered up the nerve to tell them to correct version of the story a few years ago, but it didn’t make any difference. Because of this incident, I am the LIAR of the family, and I always will be. Once again, there is nothing I can do about it, so I just share my testimony for others who may be going through the same thing, so they know they are not alone.

It was 1987-ish. My parents owned a fancy set of tall glassware designed with a simple football helmet on each glass. The glasses were kept in a high cabinet that only I was able to reach, out of all the children in the household. Well… That was until my 4-year-old brother discovered the stepping stool one morning. Long story short, a glass fell to the ground, shattered into pieces, and we both went into freak-out mode. I quickly put on my Protective Older Sister hat and swept up the glass before my parents came down stairs.

broken glass

Apparently, I hadn’t done a good enough job sweeping because Mom and Dad discovered a shard somewhere on the floor. Knowing my brother and I were both about to be interrogated, as usual, I tried to predict their questions. I was wrong about both of us being questioned; I was right about the initial question. “Did you break the glass?” I nervously answered an honest, “No.” My dad gave me THE LOOK. They disappeared for a few seconds, came back into the kitchen and proposed what I viewed as a trap, so I played along: “If you tell us who broke the glass, we’ll give you a piece of candy.” Ha! Yeah right. We don’t even have candy in the house. And why reward me for something you think I’m responsible for? They continued, “We know you were the one who swept it up because the other kids don’t know how to use a dust pan, so just tell us who broke it.” I stayed silent. “Did you break the glass or didn’t you?” Again, I replied, “No.” Candy isn’t going to make me lie when lying is what you think I’m doing in the first place. And I’m not going to let my brother get in trouble for something that was an accident.

After my parents walked away, I heard them say, “Wow. She sticks to her lie even when we bribe her with candy.” While I appreciate their attempt at using semi-positive reinforcement rather than physical punishment for once in my tiny little life, the parent isn’t always right. And that’s why I don’t bother explaining anything to my parents decades later. They draw their own conclusions anyway. So, I just stay in my bubble of TRUTH and let them wallow in assumptions and ignorance. The sad thing is, I spent my entire childhood trying to prove my loyalty and honesty to the both of them, and it was all for naught. Thank God I don’t need to answer to them anymore.

Enlighten Me

March 2013
S M T W T F S
     
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

